The Hidden Cost of Playing Flappy Bird

My friend is addicted to Flappy Bird. He plays Flappy Bird at meetings, meals and anytime he can. If he could, then I’m sure he would play it in his sleep. But Flappy Bird is just the latest game that everyone can’t stop playing, just like Candy Crush, Angry Birds and other games before (and after) it.

However, the trend of free addicting games is a new trend that exploded with the rise of the internet and mobile technology. Back in my Dad’s day, the most popular forms of gaming had a visible barrier to entry. In order to play games, you had to go to an arcade and insert coins to play. Every time you lost and saw the “Game Over” (or “Continue”) screen, you had to insert more coins to continue playing. Contrast this with the current state of games, there is no need to insert coins (pay money) to play these games.

So what are you actually paying to play these games?

Sure, there’s no direct monetary costs, but there are costs. You pay with your attention (and with your time). Attention paid to play Flappy Bird is attention taken away from friends, work and other activities. It seems obvious (and harmless). However, the opportunity cost of playing Flappy Bird is not being able to do other (more productive) things. Now if getting a high score on Flappy Bird is your life mission, then go ahead and keep playing. But I’d like to believe people (like my friend) can do more useful things with their time and attention.

And I know it’s hard to resist the temptation to play a game like Flappy Bird especially when it is (as my dad would say) the best price: free. But if you want to be more productive, put the phone down. Put your Flappy Bird playing on a diet.

 
10
Kudos
 
10
Kudos

Now read this

Weekends

It’s the weekend. It’s a time to recuperate and relax after a week of hard work. It’s a break. However, I feel a void and I don’t know what to do with this time. Sometimes, I spend this time with others that I wouldn’t be able to spend... Continue →