The Value of Failure

Failure.

It is something I rarely deal with.

I don’t study for tests and I still pass them with A’s and high B’s. I don’t produce my best and I still receive plenty of appreciation for it. I don’t work hard at all and I still benefit from the work of others as if I did work hard.

So?

What have I learned from all of this.

Don’t study. Don’t do my best. Don’t work hard.

These are just a few examples from my life, where I see a huge gap between the amount of risk and effort I exert and the return I get from this risk and effort. Clearly, my successes have been either subsidized by the success of others or my successes have been watered down to make success more available for everyone.

However what is success? When everyone gets a trophy, does it matter who plays harder every minute of the game? When everyone gets an A, does it matter who studies harder for the test? When everyone gets paid, does it matter who put in more effort at work? No. No. And no.

So what is the solution? I need to fail.

If I don’t study for a test, then it should be reflected in the grade I get on my test. If I don’t work hard, then it should be reflected in my paycheck. If I don’t produce my best at all times, then it should reflected in my feedback.

However, beyond experiencing failure, I need to learn from it. That’s the only way failure has any value. If I do not learn why I failed, then it will discourage me and I will continue to fail. On the flip side, if I don’t learn why I succeed, then it will encouraged me to take success for granted.

Because when I remain averse to failure, then I never understand what success means. I do not try to succeed because of my fear of failure. And when everyone does not try to succeed, we do not progress. We do not move forward, we stand still.

But I don’t want to stand still anymore.

It’s no longer good enough.

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

Stoicism on Mornings

When you wake up in the morning, tell yourself: The people I deal with today will be meddling, ungrateful, arrogant, dishonest, jealous, and surly. They are like this because they can’t tell good from evil. But I have seen the beauty of... Continue →